Contenu principal

Two Belgian wins in the Future Stars



Both of Thursday’s Future Stars competitions had Belgian riders on top. 

In the 7-year-old competition presented by Zangersheide, set at 1.35m, Gregory Wathelet and Melia de Regor (Elvis Ter Putte x Cento) took the win. As many as 25 horse-and-rider combinations produced double clears in this class, but no one could catch Wathelet’s time of 26.34 seconds in phase two. Leopold van Asten (NED) and Joe Clee (GBR) both crossed the finish line in 27.18 seconds to tie for runner-up position. Van Asten rode VDL Groep Hutch (Numero Uno x Corofino 2), while Clee was in the saddle of Cassy de La Valiere (Diamant de Semilly x Éclair des Bois).

Koen De Waele piloted No Fear KDW Z (Numero Uno x Berlin) to victory in the 6-year-old competition presented by Catherine De Buyl. Eleven horse-and-rider combinations were double clear over the 1.25m track, but De Waele was fastest with his time of 36.31 seconds. Following in second and third were two Irish riders: Bertram Allen on Italy HDH (Cream On Top x Numero Uno) and Darragh Kenny on CFS Sir George (Sir Shutterfly x Cavalier Royale) with the times of 36.59 and 36.77 respectively.

Click here for full results from the Future Stars.


Photo © OneShot